Groups are used to determine Permissions in the application.

A User must belong to a Group. Permissions are assigned to the group.

The application comes with three default groups:

  1. Administrator – An administrator can do anything
  2. Communicator – A communicator can own objectives and metrics, update actual values, write notes, set alerts and create tasks.
  3. Viewer – A viewer can view the system.

You can add as many groups as you like.

In the following example, we will set up a Group for the Marketing Department and give them a restricted set of Communication User permissions.


Click on the small cog at the bottom left-hand side of the screen to open the Administration view.


You will be presented with the Account Information screen.

Click on Groups under Security about half way down the Settings list. You will see the following:

Click on + Add to add a Group.

The New Group panel will appear next to the Groups panel. Add the name of the new group (we have added Marketing) and click on the Group Type and select the group type we have selected Communication Users.

Important: click Save to save the group.


The new group will appear in the Groups list (you may need to refresh the browser to see it).

In this case, Marketing has appeared in the list with a group type of Communication User.





Click on Advanced under Permissions in the right-hand panel to open the Permissions dialogue.

The New Group: Advanced Permissions dialogue will appear.

For the purposes of this guide we will do the following:

  1. Restrict View Access to the Marketing Organization
  2. Deny Edit Access to Initiatives

  1. Restrict View Access to the Marketing Scorecard
    By default, a Group can access all of the organizations in the system. To restrict access the View All Organizations check-box has to be un-checked.

Click the check box for View All Organizations and ensure the check-tick is not visible. Click the blue Done button.

The Marketing Group has now been denied access to everything. To allow the Marketing Group to see the scorecards, dashboards, reports etc. in the Marketing Organization, click on Organization next to the Advanced button:



The Marketing: Organization Permissions dialogue will appear together with the Organizations.

Click on Marketing in the list.

(If you have not added Marketing, as part of this training, click on another Organization).

The Organization will appear in the list to the right.

Click on the blue Done button.

If you now add a User to the Marketing Group their access will be restricted to the Marketing Organization’s data. When they sign on, that is all they will see.

Important Note: If a User is added to multiple groups, they will inherit ALL of the access permissions defined. To restrict access, you must ensure Users are assigned to the appropriate group(s).

  1. Denying Edit Access (in this case to Initiatives) – denying access to a specific function is very easy. Go back to Administration and click on Groups and highlight the Marketing group that you have just created, click on Advanced.



The Marketing: Advanced Permissions dialogue will appear.

Click on the Edit Initiatives check box and ensure the check-tick is not visible.

Click on the blue Done button.




The Marketing group will no longer be able to edit Initiatives.

Important Note: If a User is added to multiple groups, they will inherit ALL of the access permissions defined. To restrict access, you must ensure Users are assigned to the appropriate group(s).

Feedback

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment